College Football Freshman Player Of The Year Announced

first_imgtrevor lawrence celebrates a touchdown against louisvilleCLEMSON, SC – NOVEMBER 03: Trevor Lawrence #16 of the Clemson Tigers reacts after throwing a touchdown pass against the Louisville Cardinals during their game at Clemson Memorial Stadium on November 3, 2018 in Clemson, South Carolina. (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)College football’s freshman player of the year award winner has been announced.Clemson freshman quarterback Trevor Lawrence, who replaced Kelly Bryant as the Tigers’ starter a couple of weeks into the season, has received the award from the Touchdown Club of Columbus.Some of the previous winners for the award include:Ohio State RB J.K. Dobbins (2017)Alabama QB Jalen Hurts (2016)Georgia RB Todd Gurley (2012)Alabama WR Julio Jones (2008)Texas QB Colt McCoy (2006)It’s an impressive list.Clemson QB Trevor Lawrence has been named Freshman of the Year by the Touchdown Club of Columbus.Previous winners:— Matt Fortuna (@Matt_Fortuna) December 18, 2018Lawrence has his eyes set on a more-important trophy right now, though.The quarterback has led Clemson into the College Football Playoff. The Tigers will face Notre Dame in the Cotton Bowl on Dec. 29.last_img